Lillian Jean Kaplan International Prize for Advancement in the Understanding of Polycystic Kidney Disease (PKD)

The Lillian Jean Kaplan International Prize for the Advancement in the Understanding of Polycystic Kidney Disease (PKD), created in 2002, recognizes a medical professional or researcher exhibiting excellence and leadership in PKD clinical or basic research. The $50,000 cash prize is one of the most significant awards in the medical research field.


The Lillian Jean Kaplan International PKD Prize was established by the PKD Foundation and the International Society of Nephrology (ISN) through the generosity of Thomas Kaplan of New York, USA in memory of his mother Lillian Jean Kaplan who was a PKD sufferer and died in 2002.


The long term goal of the Prize is to stimulate members of the scientific and medical community throughout the world to increase, or to begin, research that will lead to a treatment and cure for the millions of people worldwide, who suffer from PKD. It also aims to generate momentum in the field as well as public awareness about the disease.


The Prize recognizes individual(s) whose seminal scientific work constitutes tangible achievement toward improving knowledge and treatment of PKD. It is awarded every two years at the ISN's World Congress of Nephrology.


The goal for the Kaplan Prize is to stimulate members of the global scientific and medical communities to increase or begin research leading to a PKD treatment and cure, generate momentum in the PKD field, and produce positive public awareness about PKD.

2013 Recipients

Dr. Vincent GattoneDr. Vincent Gattone

Indiana University School of Medicine
Indianapolis, IN

Dr. Dorien PetersDr. Dorien Peters

Leiden University Medical Center
Leiden, Netherlands

2011 Recipients

Dr. Gerd WalzDr. Gerd Walz

University of Freiburg Medical Center

Dr. James CalvetDr. James Calvet

University of Kansas Medical Center
Kansas City, KS

2009 Recipients

Dr. Lisa Guay-Woodford, M.D.Dr. Lisa Guay-Woodford, M.D.

University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, AL

Dr. Corinne AntignacDr. Corinne Antignac

Necker Hospital
Paris, France


Dr. Frieldhelm HildebrandtDr. Frieldhelm Hildebrandt

University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 


2007 Recipients

Dr. Jing ZhouDr. Jing Zhou

Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School; Director of the Harvard Centre of Polycystic Kidney Disease Research
Boston, MA

Dr. Vicente TorresDr. Vicente Torres

Professor of Medicine and Chair of the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
Rochester, MN

2005 Recipients

Dr. Greg GerminoDr. Greg Germino

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD

Dr. Stefan SomloDr. Stefan Somlo

Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, CT

2003 Recipients

Dr. Jared J. GranthamDr. Jared J. Grantham

University Distinguished Professor, University of Kansas Medical Center; Director of the University of Kansas Medical Center Kidney Institute
Kansas City, KS

Dr. Peter HarrisDr. Peter Harris

Professor of Biochemistry/Molecular Biology and Medicine, Mayo Medical School and Consultant, Department of Medicine, Division of Nephrology, Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

Your Organization

2000 Daniel Island Drive, Charleston SC 29492
Phone: 800.443.9441 | Fax: 843.216.6100

©2014, PKD Foundation ·The PKD Foundation is a 501 (c)(3), 509 (a)(1) public charity.

©2014, PKD Foundation ·The PKD Foundation is a 501 (c)(3), 509 (a)(1) public charity.

The PKD Foundation is a 501 (c)(3), 509 (a)(1) public charity.
National Headquarters: 8330 Ward Parkway, Suite 510, Kansas City, MO 64114. Phone: 1.800.PKD.CURE
©2014 PKD Foundation. Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions

Founded in 1982, our vision is that one day,
no one will suffer the full effects of polycystic kidney disease.

International: Canada Canada  France France  Germany Germany  Italy Italy  Japan Japan  United Kingdom United Kingdom